The Orendorff Building is now open to the public; Please use the 6th street entrance.
All other buildings still closed to the public.
Get updates at NWC COVID-19; We are open digitally, so please call or email us.

NWC News Desk

Lovell, Powell and Ralston young artists featured in Junior Duck Stamp exhibit

Posted October 19, 2015
By NWC News Desk

POWELL, Wyoming — Wildlife art by Cody, Powell and Ralston middle and high school artists will go on display Tuesday, Nov. 3, at Northwest College’s SinClair Gallery as part of the Wyoming Junior Duck Stamp Program’s 2015 Artwork Tour.

The exhibit showcases the first, second and third place winners as well as honorable mentions in the Wyoming level of the Federal Junior Duck Stamp Program. Students from around the state submit artwork each year featuring native North American waterfowl species, which are judged on the basis of original design, anatomical accuracy, artistic composition and suitability for reproduction on a 1-by-1.5- inch stamp. More than 570 entries were submitted for the 2014 contest.

“Sunlit Squealers,” a painting of wood ducks by Andrew Kneeland of Rock Springs was named the national Best of Show artwork and will become the official 2015-16 Junior Duck Stamp.

Local students represented in the show from grades seven-nine include first place winners Addison Petrie and Olivia Hobby, both of Powell. Hobby’s painting was named second runner up for Best of Show. In the same age group, second place winners included Mariana M. Mendoza, Jordan Moore and Shea Swenson, all of Powell. Mendoza’s work was also recognized for outstanding creativity. Local third-place winners are Hattie Pimentel, Jacob Bridges and Aspen Aguirre of Powell.

Earning honorable mention in grades seven-nine are Rylie Kannard of Lovell, and from Powell: Jesse Erickson, Treven Keeler, Josh Wolfe, Telisha Acton, Charlie Scott and Alli Sommerville. Keeler’s artwork was also recognized for outstanding creativity.

In the grade 10-12 group, Cydney Barrus of Powell won a first place and was named third runner-up for best of show. Jacob Prante and Claire Miner (both of Powell) took seconds. Third place recognition went to Demi Dusenberry, Shyla Hill and Lexee Craig, all of Powell.

Grade 10-12 honorable mentions went to Powell’s Sarah Jean O'Neill, Ty Linebaugh, Rachel Walker, MacKenzie White, Dawson Hutzenbieler, Ashley Dillon, Jacinta Schneider, Cheyenne Perry, Kalina Smith, Rebecca Pratt, Megan Wagner, Chase Lundberg, Mary Lynn, Trey Ouellette and Mallory Triplett of Ralston. Tiffany Bergman of Powell won a Creative Recognition mention.

The Powell High School students study under Jim Gilman.

“I encourage the community to come see the wonderful art created by our young people,” said Denise Kelsay, NWC’s art and galleries coordinator. “Powell is well represented in this show. We have a lot to be proud of.”

The junior duck stamp program uses both conservation and design principles to teach wetland habitat and waterfowl biology to students in kindergarten through high school. It provides an opportunity for students to artistically express their knowledge of the diversity, interdependence and beauty of wildlife.

The “2015 Wyoming Junior Duck Stamp Exhibit” will hang through Tuesday, Dec. 15, in SinClair Gallery. Located in the Orendorff Building, the gallery is officially open from 8 a.m.-5 p.m., however, the public is invited to view this special exhibit any weekday from 8 a.m.-9 p.m.

Admission is free.

Lovell, Powell and Ralston young artists featured in Junior Duck Stamp exhibit