Northwest College buildings are now closed to the public until further notice;
Get updates at NWC COVID-19; We are open digitally, so please call or email us.

NWC News Desk

Neil Hansen re-elected chair of national music accreditation commission

Posted December 21, 2011
By NWC News Desk

POWELL, Wyo. - Neil Hansen, a music professor and director of bands at Northwest College, was re-elected last month as chair of the National Association of Schools of Music (NASM) Commission on Community/Junior College Accreditation.

Hansen is the music accreditation coordinator at NWC and has served 10 years as a commissioner on the three-member NASM accreditation committee, the last three as chair.

The commission is charged with applying the association’s accreditation and membership standards for community/junior colleges and associate degree programs. It receives applications and determines the qualifications of institutions seeking membership and, after thorough examination, takes action on behalf of the association.

Hansen spearheaded the drive for music accreditation at NWC, which has been a fully accredited NASM member since 1995. Of the 625 institutions recognized by NASM, fewer than 30 are community colleges.

In the community, Hansen is probably recognized ­more for his work as a board member on the Wyoming Arts Council and organizer of the college’s annual jazz festival, which brings well-known jazz performers and hundreds of high school and college students to campus each spring. He also founded and operates the college’s annual Yellowstone Summer Music Camp and Jazz Camp.

Neil Hansen re-elected chair of national music accreditation commission