NWC News Desk

Twelve NWC students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa this year

Posted May 9, 2008

P O W E L L, W y o. - Local student(s) were among 12 Northwest College students inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society this spring.

NWC students who completed at least 12 hours of course work with a minimum grade point average of 3.5 are invited to join Northwest's Phi Epsilon Chapter each semester. Those who were inducted this year join 1.2 million other Phi Theta Kappa members on 1,200 campuses around the world.

The Northwest College Phi Theta Kappa Chapter works to create cultural and social opportunities for students who excel academically. The international society is committed to intellectual enrichment and personal development through programs based on four hallmarks: scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.

In addition, Phi Theta Kappa members also have access to millions of dollars in scholarships and opportunities to join an All State Academic Team.

Phi Theta Kappa has recognized academic excellence in two-year colleges since 1918 and is now one of the largest and most prestigious honor societies in higher education. Among the names on the alumni membership roster are businessman and 1992 presidential candidate H. Ross Perot, former United Nations ambassador Jeane Kirkpatrick, Apollo 13 astronaut Fred Haise, Grammy winning entertainer Rudy Gatlin and Emmy winning actress Sela Ward.

The Northwest College Phi Theta Kappa fall 2008 initiates are:

From Cody:
Mark Bentley

From Deaver:
Diana Ballinger
Diane Maki

From Douglas:
Kayleigh Rusk

From Powell:
Crystal Cline
Jessica Herweyer
Tracy Menzel

From Worland:
Dolcie Leak

From Lewistown, Mont.:
Trang Dao

From Minot, N.D.:
Amanda Negaard

From Moscow, Idaho:
Jenna Potter

From Rapid City, S.D.:
Megan Jung